Roaming Zone 1 policy
  • Home
  • Mobile
  • Roaming

All you need to know about Roaming

Roam Like at Home (RLAH)

Roaming charges are abolished in Europe Zone 1 from 15th of june 2017. Making calls, sending texts and using the internet cost the same in any country of Zone 1!

The advantages of this change is that calls, data (with some limitations) and SMS are treated as you were in Spain! You don't need to worry any more about expensive costs outside of Spain. After tariff allowance is exceeded, the pricing policy of your tariff will be applied as if you were in Spain.

Inadvertent roaming

Inadvertent roaming on a non-EU network happens when a mobile phone automatically switches from an EU to a non-EU network because of the proximity of an EU external border.

Your device automatically looks for the network with the best signal and so this can happen without you being aware of it. As the RLAH only applies to countries within the EEA, roaming charges outside of it can be much higher. Therefore, it is only those countries within the EEA which are next to a non EEA country in which this type of roaming will arise.

Note that Switzerland, Andorra, Monaco and Turkey are not in the EEA. Users travelling in border areas of neighbouring countries may find that their mobile signal connects to a Turkish or Swiss network. If this happens you will be charged non RLAH rates, which are generally significantly higher as any usage allowances you have as part of the RLAH will not apply.

If you have a smartphone, you should be aware that applications may use data even when you are not interacting with them. You can contact us for information on how to switch on and off data on your handset (and also to enquire if data settings reset automatically).

The following countries are in Zone 1:

  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Guadeloupe
  • French Guiana
  • Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Martinique
  • Reunion
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal (Madeira and Azores)
  • United Kingdom
  • Czech Republic
  • Romania
  • Sweden